Vermont DUI Laws

Vermont DUI / DWI Laws

Vermont DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information


Vermont DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

I’ve been arrested for DUI in Vermont, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Vermont, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Vermont DUI lawyer!  Vermont DUI laws are complex and an experienced Vermont DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Vermont DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Vermont?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Vermont for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Vermont does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Vermont is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Vermont.

Does Vermont have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Vermont does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.16%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Vermont?

Vermont DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

If I’m convicted of DUI in Vermont will I lose my car?

It is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Vermont.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DWI in Vermont?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in the state of  Vermont.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Vermont?

Unlike other states, Vermont DUI Laws do not require the use of a ignition interlock device upon being convicted of a DUI.

How much does a DUI in Vermont cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Vermont can cost between $8,000 – $11,000.

Will an Vermont DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Vermont, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Vermont?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Vermont you may face up to 2 years in jail.

Overview of Vermont DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Vermont

  • Imprisonment – Up to 2 years
  • Fine – Up to $750
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Vermont

  • Imprisonment – Up to 2 years
  • Fine – $1,500 max.
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 18 months license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Vermont

  • Imprisonment – 5 years max.
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $2,500 max.
  • Drivers license suspension – Life license suspension

Vermont DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Vermont


  • Addison County
  • Bennington County
  • Caledonia County
  • Chittenden County


  • Essex County
  • Franklin County
  • Grand Isle County
  • Lamoille County


  • Orange County
  • Orleans County
  • Rutland County
  • Washington County


  • Windham County
  • Windsor County