Missouri DUI Laws

Missouri DUI / DWI Laws

Missouri DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Missouri DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Missouri, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Missouri, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Missouri DUI lawyer!  Missouri DUI laws are complex and an experienced Missouri DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Missouri DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Missouri?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Missouri for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Missouri does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Missouri is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Missouri.

Q. Does Missouri have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Missouri does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Missouri?

A. Missouri DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a year license suspension while a 2nd and 3rd refusal is punishable of a year license suspension in addition to a required ignition interlock device.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Missouri will I lose my car?

A. Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Missouri.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Missouri?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Missouri.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Missouri.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Missouri?

A. Yes, Missouri DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Missouri cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Missouri can cost  between $7,000 – $10,000.

Q. Will an Missouri DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Missouri, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Missouri DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Missouri

  • Imprisonment – Up to 6 months
  • Fine – Up to $500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 30-days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Missouri

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Fine – Up to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Missouri

  • Imprisonment – Up to 4 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Minimum of $5,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 10 years

Missouri DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Missouri

  • Adair County
  • Andrew County
  • Atchison County
  • Audrain County
  • Barry County
  • Barton County
  • Bates County
  • Benton County
  • Bollinger County
  • Boone County
  • Buchanan County
  • Butler County
  • Caldwell County
  • Callaway County
  • Camden County
  • Cape Girardeau County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Cass County
  • Cedar County
  • Chariton County
  • Christian County
  • Clark County


  • Clay County
  • Clinton County
  • Cole County
  • Cooper County
  • Crawford County
  • Dade County
  • Dallas County
  • Daviess County
  • De Kalb County
  • Dent County
  • Douglas County
  • Dunklin County
  • Franklin County
  • Gasconade County
  • Gentry County
  • Greene County
  • Grundy County
  • Harrison County
  • Henry County
  • Hickory County
  • Holt County
  • Howard County
  • Howell County


  • Iron County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Knox County
  • Laclede County
  • Lafayette County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Linn County
  • Livingston County
  • Macon County
  • Madison County
  • Maries County
  • Marion County
  • McDonald County
  • Mercer County
  • Miller County
  • Mississippi County
  • Moniteau County
  • Monroe County


  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County
  • New Madrid County
  • Newton County
  • Nodaway County
  • Oregon County
  • Osage County
  • Ozark County
  • Pemiscot County
  • Perry County
  • Pettis County
  • Phelps County
  • Pike County
  • Platte County
  • Polk County
  • Pulaski County
  • Putnam County
  • Ralls County
  • Randolph County
  • Ray County
  • Reynolds County
  • Ripley County
  • St. Charles County


  • St. Clair County
  • Ste. Genevieve County
  • St. Francois County
  • St. Louis County
  • St. Louis City County
  • Saline County
  • Schuyler County
  • Scotland County
  • Scott County
  • Shannon County
  • Shelby County
  • Stoddard County
  • Stone County
  • Sullivan County
  • Taney County
  • Texas County
  • Vernon County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Webster County
  • Worth County
  • Wright County