Mississippi DUI Laws

Mississippi DUI / DWI Laws

Mississippi DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Mississippi DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Mississippi, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Mississippi, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Mississippi DUI lawyer!  Mississippi DUI laws are complex and an experienced Mississippi DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Mississippi DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Mississippi?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Mississippi for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Mississippi does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Mississippi is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Mississippi.

Q. Does Mississippi have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Unlike some other states, Mississippi does not have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if convicted of DUI in Mississippi.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Mississippi?

A. Mississippi DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a 90 day license suspension, a 2nd offense is a year license suspension and the 3rd refusal will result in a year license suspension and possible fine.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Mississippi will I lose my car?

A. Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Mississippi.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Mississippi?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Mississippi.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Mississippi.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Mississippi?

A. Yes, Mississippi DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Mississippi cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Mississippi can cost  between $7,000 – $10,000.

Q. Will an Mississippi DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Mississippi, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Overview of Mississippi DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Mississippi

  • Imprisonment – Up to 48 hours
  • Fine – $250 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Mississippi

  • Imprisonment – 5 days up to 1 year
  • Fine – $600 to $1,500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Mississippi

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $2,000 up to $5,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to 5 years

Mississippi DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Mississippi


  • Adams County
  • Alcorn County
  • Amite County
  • Attala County
  • Benton County
  • Bolivar County
  • Calhoun County
  • Carroll County
  • Chickasaw County
  • Choctaw County
  • Claiborne County
  • Clarke County
  • Clay County
  • Coahoma County
  • Copiah County
  • Covington County
  • De Soto County
  • Forrest County
  • Franklin County
  • George County
  • Greene County


  • Grenada County
  • Hancock County
  • Harrison County
  • Hinds County
  • Holmes County
  • Humphreys County
  • Issaquena County
  • Itawamba County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jefferson Davis County
  • Jones County
  • Kemper County
  • Lafayette County
  • Lamar County
  • Lauderdale County
  • Lawrence County
  • Leake County
  • Lee County
  • Leflore County


  • Lincoln County
  • Lowndes County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Neshoba County
  • Newton County
  • Noxubee County
  • Oktibbeha County
  • Panola County
  • Pearl River County
  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Prentiss County
  • Quitman County
  • Rankin County
  • Scott County
  • Sharkey County


  • Simpson County
  • Smith County
  • Stone County
  • Sunflower County
  • Tallahatchie County
  • Tate County
  • Tippah County
  • Tishomingo County
  • Tunica County
  • Union County
  • Walthall County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Webster County
  • Wilkinson County
  • Winston County
  • Yalobusha County
  • Yazoo County