North Dakota DUI Laws

North Dakota DUI / DWI Laws 

North Dakota DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

North Dakota DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in North Dakota, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in North Dakota, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced North Dakota DUI lawyer!  North Dakota DUI laws are complex and an experienced North Dakota DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE North Dakota DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in North Dakota?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in North Dakota for individuals over 21 is .08%.  North Dakota does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in North Dakota is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of North Dakota.

Does North Dakota have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, North Dakota does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.18%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in North Dakota?

North Dakota DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a year license suspension, a 2nd refusal is a 3 year license suspension and a 3rd refusal will result in a 4 year license suspension.

If I’m convicted of DUI in North Dakota will I lose my car?

Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in North Dakota.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DWI in North Dakota?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in North Dakota.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in North Dakota.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in North Dakota?

Unlike some other states, North Dakota DUI laws do require the use of an ignition interlock device for your vehicle upon a DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in North Dakota cost?

A first time DUI conviction in North Dakota can cost between $7,000 – $10,000 in fines and legal fees.

Will an North Dakota DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in North Dakota, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in North Dakota?

Unlike most other states, there is no required jail time for a first time DUI offense in the state of North Dakota.

Overview of North Dakota DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in North Dakota

  • Imprisonment – None
  • Fine – $500 to $750
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 91 to 180 days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in North Dakota

  • Imprisonment – 10 days
  • Fine – $600 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in North Dakota

  • Imprisonment – 120 days
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Fine – Minimum of $2,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 to 3 years

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in North Dakota

  • Imprisonment – 180 days
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Fine – Minimum of $2,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 to 3 years

North Dakota DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in North Dakota


  • Adams County
  • Barnes County
  • Benson County
  • Billings County
  • Bottineau County
  • Bowman County
  • Burke County
  • Burleigh County
  • Cass County
  • Cavalier County
  • Dickey County
  • Divide County
  • Dunn County
  • Eddy County


  • Emmons County
  • Foster County
  • Golden Valley County
  • Grand Forks County
  • Grant County
  • Griggs County
  • Hettinger County
  • Kidder County
  • LaMoure County
  • Logan County
  • McHenry County
  • McIntosh County
  • McKenzie County
  • McLean County


  • Mercer County
  • Morton County
  • Mountrail County
  • Nelson County
  • Oliver County
  • Pembina County
  • Pierce County
  • Ramsey County
  • Ransom County
  • Renville County
  • Richland County
  • Rolette County
  • Sargent County
  • Sheridan County


  • Sioux County
  • Slope County
  • Stark County
  • Steele County
  • Stutsman County
  • Towner County
  • Traill County
  • Walsh County
  • Ward County
  • Wells County
  • Williams County