Alaska DUI law penalties, fines, requirements & information.
Alaska DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions
Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Alaska will I lose my car?
A. Like most other states in America, Alaska DUI Laws state that on a second DUI offense vehicle confiscation is possible.
Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Alaska?
A. Like majority of the states in America, the BAC legal limit in Alaska for adults is .08%. You will be charged with a DUI in Alaska if you are found to have a BAC higher than .08. Alaska DUI laws have a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving, an underage minor can be charged with DUI if they have a BAC higher than .00%.
Q. How much does a DUI in Alaska cost?
A. If convicted of DUI in Alaska for a first time offense, you can expect to be facing around $24,000 in fines and legal fees.
Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Alaska?
A. If convicted of DUI in Alaska, yes it is possible that you will receive a ignition interlock device.
Q. Does Alaska have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
A. Yes, Alaska does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%
Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Alaska?
A. Just like most states in America, Alaska DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face severe consequences.
Q. Is there a chance that I can lose my license if convicted of a DUI in Alaska?
A. Yes, license suspension or revocation is possible if convicted of a DUI in Alaska. The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Alaska. A first time DUI offense in Alaska faces 90 days suspension, second DUI offense faces one year suspension, and a third DUI offense faces a suspension for three years.
Q. Will an Alaska DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
A. Yes, a DUI conviction in a Alaska could increase your insurance by $3,000 to $6,000.
Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Alaska, what should I do?
A. If you’ve been arrested or charged with DUI / DWI in Alaska, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced local DUI lawyer! Alaska DUI laws are complex and have sever consequences. An experienced Alaska DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome for your DUI. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Alaska DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
Overview of Alaska DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Alaska
- Imprisonment – A minimum of 72 hours
- Fine – A minimum of $1,500
- Mandatory – 90-day license suspension, DUI school attendance, and required ignition interlock device for 6 months
Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Alaska
- Imprisonment – Minimum of 20 days
- Fine – Minimum of $3,000
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance, and required ignition interlock device for a year
- DL Revocation – 1 year
Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Alaska
- Imprisonment – 60 days in municipal or county jail, up to 1 year with $2,000 cost of imprisonment
- Mandatory – 60-day imprisonment which cannot be probated or suspended
- Fine – $4,000 – $10,000
- DL Revocation – 5 years
Penalties & Fines For Fourth & Subsequent DUI Convictions In Alaska (Class C Felony DUI)
- Imprisonment – 1-10 years
- Fine – $5,000 – $10,000
- DL Revocation – 5 years
Alaska DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Alaska
- Aleutians East Borough
- Municipality of Anchorage
- Bristol Bay Borough
- Denali Borough
- Fairbanks North Star Borough
- Haines Borough
- City and Borough of Juneau
- Kenai Peninsula Borough
- Ketchikan Gateway Borough
- Kodiak Island Borough
- Lake and Peninsula Borough
- Matanuska-Susitna Borough
- North Slope Borough
- Northwest Arctic Borough
- Petersburg Borough
- City and Borough of Sitka
- Municipality of Skagway
- City and Borough of Wrangell
- City and Borough of Yakutat