Hawaii DUI Laws

Hawaii DUI / DWI Laws

Hawaii DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Hawaii DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. Does Hawaii have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Hawaii does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Hawaii?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Hawaii for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Hawaii does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Hawaii is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Hawaii.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Hawaii, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Hawaii, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Hawaii DUI lawyer!  Hawaii DUI laws are complex and an experienced Hawaii DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Hawaii DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Hawaii?

A. Hawaii DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Hawaii will I lose my car?

A. If convicted of a DUI offense in Hawaii it is possible your vehicle could be confiscated.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Hawaii?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Hawaii.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offence in Hawaii.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Hawaii?

A. Yes, Hawaii DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Hawaii cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Hawaii can cost  between $6,000 – $9,000.

Q. Will an Hawaii DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Hawaii, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Hawaii DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Hawaii

  • Imprisonment – None
  • Fine – $150 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment.
  • Drivers license suspension – 90 days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Hawaii

  • Imprisonment – 5 to 14 days
  • Fine – $500 to $1,500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment.
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Hawaii

  • Imprisonment – 10 to 30 days
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Fine – $500 to $2,500
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 to 5 years

Hawaii DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Hawaii


  • Hawaii County
  • Honolulu County


  • Kalawao County
  • Kauai County


  • Maui County