Kentucky DUI Laws

Kentucky DUI / DWI Laws

Kentucky DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Kentucky DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Kentucky, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Kentucky, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Kentucky DUI lawyer!  Kentucky DUI laws are complex and an experienced Kentucky DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Kentucky DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Kentucky?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Kentucky for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Kentucky does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Kentucky is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Kentucky.

Q. Does Kentucky have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Kentucky does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .18%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Kentucky?

A. Kentucky DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a 30 day license suspension and jail-time is doubled.  The 2nd and 3rd refusal will result in a 1-2 year license suspension and jail-time doubled.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Kentucky will I lose my car?

A. Yes, if convicted of a DUI offense in Kentucky it is possible that your vehicle could be confiscated.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Kentucky?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Kentucky.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Kentucky.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Kentucky requires 90 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a one year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a three years suspension.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Kentucky?

A. Unlike some other states, Kentucky DUI laws don’t allow ignition interlock devices upon being convicted of DUI.

Q. How much does a DUI in Kentucky cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Kentucky can cost  between $7,000 – $10,000.

Q. Will an Kentucky DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Kentucky, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Kentucky DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Kentucky

  • Imprisonment – None
  • Fine – $600 – $2,100
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Kentucky

  • Imprisonment – Five days
  • Fine – $1,100 – $5,100
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – up to a year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Kentucky

  • Imprisonment – Thirty days
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Fine – $2,100 to $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 3 years

Kentucky DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Kentucky


  • Adair County
  • Allen County
  • Anderson County
  • Ballard County
  • Barren County
  • Bath County
  • Bell County
  • Boone County
  • Bourbon County
  • Boyd County
  • Boyle County
  • Bracken County
  • Breathitt County
  • Breckinridge County
  • Bullitt County
  • Butler County
  • Caldwell County
  • Calloway County
  • Campbell County
  • Carlisle County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Casey County
  • Christian County


  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Clinton County
  • Crittenden County
  • Cumberland County
  • Daviess County
  • Edmonson County
  • Elliott County
  • Estill County
  • Fayette County
  • Fleming County
  • Floyd County
  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Gallatin County
  • Garrard County
  • Grant County
  • Graves County
  • Grayson County
  • Green County
  • Greenup County
  • Hancock County
  • Hardin County
  • Harlan County


  • Harrison County
  • Hart County
  • Henderson County
  • Henry County
  • Hickman County
  • Hopkins County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jessamine County
  • Johnson County
  • Kenton County
  • Knott County
  • Knox County
  • Larue County
  • Laurel County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lee County
  • Leslie County
  • Letcher County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Livingston County
  • Logan County
  • Lyon County


  • McCracken County
  • McCreary County
  • McLean County
  • Madison County
  • Magoffin County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Martin County
  • Mason County
  • Meade County
  • Menifee County
  • Mercer County
  • Metcalfe County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County
  • Muhlenberg County
  • Nelson County
  • Nicholas County
  • Ohio County
  • Oldham County
  • Owen County
  • Owsley County
  • Pendleton County


  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Powell County
  • Pulaski County
  • Robertson County
  • Rockcastle County
  • Rowan County
  • Russell County
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Simpson County
  • Spencer County
  • Taylor County
  • Todd County
  • Trigg County
  • Trimble County
  • Union County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Webster County
  • Whitley County
  • Wolfe County
  • Woodford County