Massachusetts DUI Laws

Massachusetts DUI / DWI Laws

Massachusetts DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Massachusetts DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Massachusetts, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Massachusetts, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Massachusetts DUI lawyer! Massachusetts DUI laws are complex and an experienced Massachusetts DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Massachusetts DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Massachusetts?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Massachusetts for individuals over 21 is .08%. Massachusetts does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%.  The commercial BAC limit in Massachusetts is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Massachusetts.

Q. Does Massachusetts have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Massachusetts does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.20%.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Maine?

A. Massachusetts DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Massachusetts will I lose my car?

A. Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Massachusetts.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Massachusetts?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Massachusetts.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Massachusetts.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Massachusetts requires 180 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a 18 month suspension.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Massachusetts?

A. Yes, Massachusetts DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices for repeating DUI offenders.

Q. How much does a DUI in Massachusetts cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Massachusetts can cost  between $11,000 – $14,000.


Overview of Massachusetts DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Massachusetts

  • Imprisonment – Up to 30 months
  • Fine – $500 to $5,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Massachusetts

  • Imprisonment – 30 days to 30 months
  • Fine – $600 to $10,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Massachusetts

  • Imprisonment – 150 days to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $1,000 to $15,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 8 years

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Massachusetts

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $1,500 to $25,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 10 years

Massachusetts DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Massachusetts


  • Barnstable County
  • Berkshire County
  • Bristol County
  • Dukes County
  • Essex County


  • Franklin County
  • Hampden County
  • Hampshire County
  • Middlesex County
  • Nantucket County


  • Norfolk County
  • Plymouth County
  • Suffolk County
  • Worcester County