Iowa DUI Laws

Iowa DUI / DWI Laws

Iowa DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Iowa DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Iowa, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Iowa, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Iowa DUI lawyer!  Iowa DUI laws are complex and an experienced Iowa DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Iowa DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Iowa?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Iowa for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Iowa does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Iowa is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Iowa.

Q. Does Iowa have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Iowa does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Iowa?

A. Indiana DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face 180 days of license suspension, the 2nd and 3rd refusal will result in a 2-6 year license suspension.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Indiana will I lose my car?

A. Yes, if convicted of a DUI offense in Iowa it is possible your vehicle could be confiscated.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Iowa?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Iowa.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Iowa.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Iowa requires 180 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a two year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a six year suspension.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Iowa?

A. Yes, Iowa DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction if your BAC was higher than 0.10%.

Q. How much does a DUI in Iowa cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Iowa can cost  between $8,000 – $11,000.

Q. Will an Iowa DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Iowa, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Overview of Iowa DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Iowa

  • Imprisonment – 48 hours up to 1 year
  • Fine – $625 – $1,200
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment program, ignition interlock device if BAC is over .10%
  • Drivers license suspension – 180-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Iowa

  • Imprisonment – 7 days up to 2 years
  • Fine – $1,875 – $6,250
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment program, ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – up to 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Iowa (Class D Felony DUI)

  • Imprisonment – up to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment program, ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $3,125 to $9,375
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to 6 years

Iowa DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Iowa


  • Adair County
  • Adams County
  • Allamakee County
  • Appanoose County
  • Audubon County
  • Benton County
  • Black Hawk County
  • Boone County
  • Bremer County
  • Buchanan County
  • Buena Vista County
  • Butler County
  • Calhoun County
  • Carroll County
  • Cass County
  • Cedar County
  • Cerro Gordo County
  • Cherokee County
  • Chickasaw County
  • Clarke County
  • Clay County
  • Clayton County
  • Clinton County
  • Crawford County
  • Dallas County


  • Davis County
  • Decatur County
  • Delaware County
  • Des Moines County
  • Dickinson County
  • Dubuque County
  • Emmet County
  • Fayette County
  • Floyd County
  • Franklin County
  • Fremont County
  • Greene County
  • Grundy County
  • Guthrie County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Hardin County
  • Harrison County
  • Henry County
  • Howard County
  • Humboldt County
  • Ida County
  • Iowa County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County


  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Jones County
  • Keokuk County
  • Kossuth County
  • Lee County
  • Linn County
  • Louisa County
  • Lucas County
  • Lyon County
  • Madison County
  • Mahaska County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Mills County
  • Mitchell County
  • Monona County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Muscatine County
  • O’Brien County
  • Osceola County
  • Page County
  • Palo Alto County
  • Plymouth County


  • Pocahontas County
  • Polk County
  • Pottawattamie County
  • Poweshiek County
  • Ringgold County
  • Sac County
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Sioux County
  • Story County
  • Tama County
  • Taylor County
  • Union County
  • Van Buren County
  • Wapello County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Webster County
  • Winnebago County
  • Winneshiek County
  • Woodbury County
  • Worth County
  • Wright County