Idaho DUI Laws

Idaho DUI Laws

Idaho DUI Laws: DUI Penalties, DUI Fines, Requirements & Information.

Idaho DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions


Q. How much does a DUI in Idaho cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Idaho can cost  between $8,000 – $11,000.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Idaho?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Idaho for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Idaho does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Idaho is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Idaho.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Idaho, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Idaho, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Idaho DUI lawyer!  Idaho DUI laws are complex and an experienced Idaho DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Idaho DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Will a Idaho DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Idaho, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Q. Does Idaho have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Idaho does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .20%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Idaho?

A. Idaho DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a 90-180 days license suspension, the 2nd and 3rd refusal will result in a 1-5 year license suspension.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Idaho?

A. Yes, Idaho DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Idaho will I lose my car?

A. If convicted of a DUI offense in Idaho, it is possible your vehicle will confiscated.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Idaho?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Idaho.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Idaho.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Idaho requires 90 to 180 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a one year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a one to five year suspension.


Overview of Idaho DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Idaho

  • Imprisonment – Up to six months
  • Fine –  Up to $1000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 90- 180 day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Idaho

  • Imprisonment – 10 days to 1 year
  • Fine – Up to $2,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – up to a year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Idaho (Class C Felony DUI)

  • Imprisonment – 30 days to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Up to $5,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 to 5 years

Idaho DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Idaho


  • Ada County
  • Adams County
  • Bannock County
  • Bear Lake County
  • Benewah County
  • Bingham County
  • Blaine County
  • Boise County
  • Bonner County
  • Bonneville County
  • Boundary County


  • Butte County
  • Camas County
  • Canyon County
  • Caribou County
  • Cassia County
  • Clark County
  • Clearwater County
  • Custer County
  • Elmore County
  • Franklin County
  • Fremont County


  • Gem County
  • Gooding County
  • Idaho County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jerome County
  • Kootenai County
  • Latah County
  • Lemhi County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Madison County


  • Minidoka County
  • Nez Perce County
  • Oneida County
  • Owyhee County
  • Payette County
  • Power County
  • Shoshone County
  • Teton County
  • Twin Falls County
  • Valley County
  • Washington County