Michigan DUI Laws

Michigan DUI / DWI Laws

Michigan DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Michigan DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Maine, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Michigan, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Michigan DUI lawyer!  Michigan DUI laws are complex and an experienced Michigan DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Michigan DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Michigan?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Michigan for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Michigan does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Michigan is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Michigan.

Q. Does Michigan have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Michigan does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.17%

Q.  Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Michigan?

A. Michigan DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a year license suspension, a 2nd offense is a 2 year license suspension and the 3rd refusal will result in a 5 year license suspension and possible fine.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Michigan will I lose my car?

A. It is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in the state of Michigan.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Michigan?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Michigan.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Michigan.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Michigan?

A. Yes, Michigan DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Michigan cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Michigan can cost  between $8,000 – $11,000.

Q. Will an Michigan DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Michigan, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Michigan DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Michigan

  • Imprisonment – Up to 93 days
  • Fine – $100 to $500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with possibility of ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to 6 months

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Michigan

  • Imprisonment – 5 days to 1 year
  • Fine – $200 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – Min. 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Michigan

  • Imprisonment – 30 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $200 to $1,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Min. 1 year

Michigan DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Michigan

  • Alcona County
  • Alger County
  • Allegan County
  • Alpena County
  • Antrim County
  • Arenac County
  • Baraga County
  • Barry County
  • Bay County
  • Benzie County
  • Berrien County
  • Branch County
  • Calhoun County
  • Cass County
  • Charlevoix County
  • Cheboygan County
  • Chippewa County
  • Clare County
  • Clinton County
  • Crawford County
  • Delta County


  • Dickinson County
  • Eaton County
  • Emmet County
  • Genesee County
  • Gladwin County
  • Gogebic County
  • Grand Traverse County
  • Gratiot County
  • Hillsdale County
  • Houghton County
  • Huron County
  • Ingham County
  • Ionia County
  • Iosco County
  • Iron County
  • Isabella County
  • Jackson County
  • Kalamazoo County
  • Kalkaska County
  • Kent County
  • Keweenaw County


  • Lake County
  • Lapeer County
  • Leelanau County
  • Lenawee County
  • Livingston County
  • Luce County
  • Mackinac County
  • Macomb County
  • Manistee County
  • Marquette County
  • Mason County
  • Mecosta County
  • Menominee County
  • Midland County
  • Missaukee County
  • Monroe County
  • Montcalm County
  • Montmorency County
  • Muskegon County
  • Newaygo County
  • Oakland County


  • Oceana County
  • Ogemaw County
  • Ontonagon County
  • Osceola County
  • Oscoda County
  • Otsego County
  • Ottawa County
  • Presque Isle County
  • Roscommon County
  • Saginaw County
  • St. Clair County
  • St. Joseph County
  • Sanilac County
  • Schoolcraft County
  • Shiawassee County
  • Tuscola County
  • Van Buren County
  • Washtenaw County
  • Wayne County
  • Wexford County