Indiana DUI Laws

Indiana DUI / DWI Laws

Indiana DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Indiana DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


Q. Does Indiana have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Indiana does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Indiana?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Indiana for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Indiana does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%.  The commercial BAC limit in Indiana is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Indiana.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Indiana, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Indiana, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Indiana DUI lawyer!  Indiana DUI laws are complex and an experienced Indiana DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Indiana DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Indiana?

A. Indiana DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a 1 year license suspension, the 2nd and 3rd refusal will result in a 2 year license suspension.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Indiana will I lose my car?

A. If convicted of a DUI offense in California it is possible your vehicle could be confiscated.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Indiana?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Indiana.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offence in Indiana.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Indiana requires two years suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is minimum of 180 days to 2 years suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is 1 to 10 years suspension.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Indiana?

A. Yes, Indiana DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a third DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Indiana cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Indiana can cost  between $8,000 – $11,000.

Q. Will an Indiana DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Indiana, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Indiana DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Indiana

  • Imprisonment – 60 days to a year
  • Fine – $500 – $5,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment.
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Indiana

  • Imprisonment – 5 days to 3 years
  • Fine – $10,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment.
  • Drivers license suspension – Minimum of 180 days to 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Indiana(Class D Felony DUI)

  • Imprisonment – 10 days to 5 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device.
  • Fine – Minimum of $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Minimum of 1 year up to 10 years

Indiana DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Indiana


  • Adams County
  • Allen County
  • Bartholomew County
  • Benton County
  • Blackford County
  • Boone County
  • Brown County
  • Carroll County
  • Cass County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Clinton County
  • Crawford County
  • Daviess County
  • Dearborn County
  • Decatur County
  • De Kalb County
  • Delaware County
  • Dubois County
  • Elkhart County
  • Fayette County
  • Floyd County
  • Fountain County


  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Gibson County
  • Grant County
  • Greene County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Harrison County
  • Hendricks County
  • Henry County
  • Howard County
  • Huntington County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County
  • Jay County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jennings County
  • Johnson County
  • Knox County
  • Kosciusko County
  • La Porte County
  • Lagrange County
  • Lake County


  • Lawrence County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Martin County
  • Miami County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County
  • Newton County
  • Noble County
  • Ohio County
  • Orange County
  • Owen County
  • Parke County
  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Porter County
  • Posey County
  • Pulaski County
  • Putnam County
  • Randolph County
  • Ripley County


  • Rush County
  • St. Joseph County
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Spencer County
  • Starke County
  • Steuben County
  • Sullivan County
  • Switzerland County
  • Tippecanoe County
  • Tipton County
  • Union County
  • Vanderburgh
  • Vermillion County
  • Vigo County
  • Wabash County
  • Warren County
  • Warrick County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Wells County
  • White County
  • Whitley County