Maryland DUI Laws

Maryland DUI / DWI Laws 

Maryland DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Maryland DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Maryland?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Maryland for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Maryland does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%.  The commercial BAC limit in Maryland is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Maryland.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Maryland, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Maryland, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Maryland DUI lawyer!  Maryland DUI laws are complex and an experienced Maryland DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Maryland DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Does Maryland have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Unlike some other states, Maryland does not have a aggravated DUI charge.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Maryland?

A. Maryland DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face 120 day license suspension, a 2nd refusal is a 1 month license suspension and the 3rd refusal will result in a  year license suspension and possible fine.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Maryland will I lose my car?

A. Unlike some other states, Maryland DUI laws do allow confiscation of vehicles.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Maryland?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Maryland.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Maryland.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Maryland?

A. Yes, Maryland DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Maryland cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Maryland can cost  between $8,000 – $11,000.

Q. Will an Maryland DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Maryland, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.


Overview of Maryland DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Maryland

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year (DUI); up to 2 months (DWI)
  • Fine – Up to $1,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI)
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – Minimum of 6 months

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Maryland

  • Imprisonment – Up to 2 years (DUI); up to 1 year (DWI)
  • Fine – Up to $2,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI)
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to a year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Maryland

  • Imprisonment – Up to 3 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Up to $3,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Minimum of 18 months

Maryland DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Maryland


  • Allegany County
  • Anne Arundel County
  • Baltimore County
  • Baltimore City County
  • Calvert County
  • Caroline County
  • Carroll County
  • Cecil County


  • Charles County
  • Dorchester County
  • Frederick County
  • Garrett County
  • Harford County
  • Howard County
  • Kent County
  • Montgomery County


  • Prince George’s County
  • Queen Anne’s County
  • St. Mary’s County
  • Somerset County
  • Talbot County
  • Washington County
  • Wicomico County
  • Worcester County