Florida DUI Laws

Florida DUI Laws

Florida DUI law penalties, fines, requirements & information.

Florida DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions


Q. Will a Florida DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, most definitely.  If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Florida, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested or charged with DUI / DWI in the state of Florida, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced local DUI lawyer!  Florida DUI laws are complex, and an experienced Florida DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Florida DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Florida?

A. Yes, Florida DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Florida will I lose my car?

A. Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Florida.

Q. How much does a DUI in Florida cost?

A. A first time DUI offense in Florida can cost  between $7,000 – $10,000.

Q. Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Florida?

A. Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Florida you may face between 6 to 9 months in jail.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Florida?

A. Yes, If you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Florida it is mandatory that you will have to use a ignition interlock device.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Florida?

A. Just like every other state in America, the BAC legal limit in Florida for adults is .08%.  You will be charged with a DUI in Florida if you are found to have a BAC higher than .08%.  Florida has a zero tolerance(underage) BAC of 0.02%, meaning that any underage driver found driving under the influence in Florida with a BAC higher then .02% will be charged with a DUI.

Q. Is there a chance that I can lose my license if convicted of a DUI in Florida?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation is possible if convicted of a DUI in Florida.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Florida.  A first time DUI offense in Florida faces 180 days to a year suspension, second DUI offense faces 9 months to 1 year suspension, and a third DUI offense faces up to a year suspension.

Q. Does Florida have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Florida does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%.

Overview of Connecticut DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Florida

  • Imprisonment – Minimum of 6 to 9 months
  • Fine – Minimum of $500 to $2,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol education school, assessment and treatment program, & ignition interlock device
  • Drivers License Revocation – 180 days to 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Florida

  • Imprisonment – 9 months to a year
  • Fine – $1000 to $4,000
  • Mandatory – Ignition interlock device & DUI education school, & assessment and treatment program
  • Drivers License Revocation – 5 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Florida

  • Imprisonment – Minimum of 1 year
  • Fine – $2,000 to $5,000
  • Mandatory – Ignition interlock device & DUI education school, & assessment and treatment program
  • Driver’s License Revocation – 10 years

Florida DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Florida


  • Alachua County
  • Baker County
  • Bay County
  • Bradford County
  • Brevard County
  • Broward County
  • Calhoun County
  • Charlotte County
  • Citrus County
  • Clay County
  • Collier County
  • Columbia County
  • DeSoto County
  • Dixie County
  • Duval County
  • Escambia County
  • Flagler County


  • Franklin County
  • Gadsden County
  • Gilchrist County
  • Glades County
  • Gulf County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hardee County
  • Hendry County
  • Hernando County
  • Highlands County
  • Hillsborough County
  • Holmes County
  • Indian River County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Lafayette County
  • Lake County


  • Lee County
  • Leon County
  • Levy County
  • Liberty County
  • Madison County
  • Manatee County
  • Marion County
  • Martin County
  • Miami-Dade County
  • Monroe County
  • Nassau County
  • Okaloosa County
  • Okeechobee County
  • Orange County
  • Osceola County
  • Palm Beach County
  • Pasco County


  • Pinellas County
  • Polk County
  • Putnam County
  • St. Johns County
  • St. Lucie County
  • Santa Rosa County
  • Sarasota County
  • Seminole County
  • Sumter County
  • Suwannee County
  • Taylor County
  • Union County
  • Volusia County
  • Wakulla County
  • Walton County
  • Washington County