Louisiana DUI / DWI Laws
Louisiana DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information
Louisiana DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions
Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Louisiana, what should I do?
A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Louisiana, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Louisiana DUI lawyer! Louisiana DUI laws are complex and an experienced Louisiana DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Louisiana DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Louisiana?
A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Louisiana for individuals over 21 is .08%. Louisiana does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%. The commercial BAC limit in Louisiana is .04%. Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Louisiana.
Q. Does Louisiana have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
A. Yes, Louisiana does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%
Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Louisiana?
A. Louisiana DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.
Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Louisiana will I lose my car?
A. Unlike some other states, Louisiana DUI laws do allow confiscation of vehicles.
Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Louisiana?
A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Louisiana. The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Louisiana. A first time DUI / DUII offense in Louisiana requires 90 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a one year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a two year suspension.
Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Louisiana?
A. Yes, Louisiana DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.
Q. How much does a DUI in Louisiana cost?
A. A first time DUI conviction in Louisiana can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.
Q. Will an Louisiana DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
A. Yes, definitely. If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Louisiana, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.
Overview of Louisiana DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Louisiana
- Imprisonment – 2 days to 6 months
- Fine – $1000
- Mandatory – Alcohol assessment & treatment, possible ignition interlock device.
- Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension
Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Louisiana
- Imprisonment – 30 days up to 6 months
- Fine – $1,000
- Mandatory –Alcohol assessment & treatment with ignition interlock device.
- Drivers license suspension – 1 year
Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction DUI’s in Louisiana
- Imprisonment – 45 days to 5 years
- Mandatory – Alcohol assessment & treatment with ignition interlock device.
- Fine – $2,000
- Drivers license suspension – 2 years
Penalties & Fines For Fourth & Subsequent DUI Convictions Within 10 Years In Louisiana
- Imprisonment – 75 days to 30 years
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance, alcohol assessment & treatment with ignition interlock device.
- Fine – $5,000
- DL Revocation – 2 years
Louisiana DUI Laws Apply To All Counties (Parishes) in Louisiana
- Acadia Parish
- Allen Parish
- Ascension Parish
- Assumption Parish
- Avoyelles Parish
- Beauregard Parish
- Bienville Parish
- Bossier Parish
- Caddo Parish
- Calcasieu Parish
- Caldwell Parish
- Cameron Parish
- Catahoula Parish
- Claiborne Parish
- Concordia Parish
- De Soto Parish
- East Baton Rouge Parish
- East Carroll Parish
- East Feliciana Parish
- Evangeline Parish
- Franklin Parish
- Grant Parish
- Iberia Parish
- Iberville Parish
- Jackson Parish
- Jefferson Parish
- Jefferson Davis Parish
- La Salle Parish
- Lafayette Parish
- Lafourche Parish
- Lincoln Parish
- Livingston Parish
- Madison Parish
- Morehouse Parish
- Natchitoches Parish
- Orleans Parish
- Ouachita Parish
- Plaquemines Parish
- Pointe Coupee Parish
- Rapides Parish
- Red River Parish
- Richland Parish
- Sabine Parish
- St. Bernard Parish
- St. Charles Parish
- St. Helena Parish
- St. James Parish
- St. John The Baptist Parish
- St. Landry Parish
- St. Martin Parish
- St. Mary Parish
- St. Tammany Parish
- Tangipahoa Parish
- Tensas Parish
- Terrebonne Parish
- Union Parish
- Vermilion Parish
- Vernon Parish
- Washington Parish
- Webster Parish
- West Baton Rouge Parish
- West Carroll Parish
- West Feliciana Parish
- Winn Parish