Arkansas DUI Laws
Arkansas DUI law penalties, fines, requirements & information.
Arkansas DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions
Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Arkansas, what should I do?
A. If you’ve been arrested or charged with DUI / DWI in Arkansas, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced local DUI lawyer! Arkansas DUI laws are complex and have severe consequences. An experienced Arkansas DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome for your DUI. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Arkansas DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Arkansas?
A. Like all states in America, the BAC legal limit in Arkansas for adults is .08%. You will be charged with a DUI in Arkansas if you are found to have a BAC higher than .08. Arkansas DUI laws state that an underage minor can be charged with DUI if they have a BAC higher than .02%.
Q. Does Arkansas have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
A. Yes, Arkansas does have an enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%
Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Arkansas?
A. Just like most states in America, Arkansas DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face severe consequences.
Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Arkansas, will I lose my car?
A. Yes, If convicted of a fourth DUI offense in Arkansas your vehicle will confiscated.
Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Arkansas?
A. If convicted of DUI in Arkansas, yes it is mandatory that you will receive a ignition interlock device.
Q. How much does a DUI in Arkansas cost?
A. If convicted of DUI in Arkansas for a first time offense, you can expect to be facing around $10,000 in fines and legal fees.
Q. Will an Arkansas DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
A. Yes, a DUI conviction in a Arkansas could increase your insurance by $3,000 to $6,000.
Q. Is there a chance that I can lose my license if convicted of a DUI in Arkansas?
A. Yes, license suspension or revocation is possible if convicted of a DUI in Arkansas. The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Arkansas. A first time DUI offense in Arkansas faces 180 days suspension, second DUI offense faces two years suspension, and a third DUI offense faces a suspension for thirty months.
Q. Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Arkansas?
A. Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Arkansas you may face between 24 hours to a year of jail time.
Overview of Arkansas DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Arkansas
- Imprisonment – A minimum of 24 hours to a year
- Fine – A minimum of $150 to $1,000
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance and ignition interlock device
- Driver License Revocation – 180-days
Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Arkansas
- Imprisonment – Minimum of 7 days to a year
- Fine – Minimum of $400 to $3,000
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance and required ignition interlock device for a year
- Driver License Revocation – 2 year
Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Arkansas
- Imprisonment – 90 days in municipal or county jail, up to 1 year with $2,000 cost of imprisonment
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance, and required ignition interlock device for a year
- Fine – $900 – $5,000
- Driver License Revocation – 2.5 years
Penalties & Fines For Fourth & Subsequent DUI Convictions In Arkansas (Class C Felony DUI)
- Imprisonment – 1-6 years
- Fine – $900 – $5,000
- Driver License Revocation – 4 years
Arkansas DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Arkansas
- Arkansas County
- Ashley County
- Baxter County
- Benton County
- Boone County
- Bradley County
- Calhoun County
- Carroll County
- Chicot County
- Clark County
- Clay County
- Cleburne County
- Cleveland County
- Columbia County
- Conway County
- Craighead County
- Crawford County
- Crittenden County
- Cross County
- Dallas County
- Desha County
- Drew County
- Faulkner County
- Franklin County
- Fulton County
- Garland County
- Grant County
- Greene County
- Hempstead County
- Hot Spring County
- Howard County
- Independence County
- Izard County
- Jackson County
- Jefferson County
- Johnson County
- Lafayette County
- Lawrence County
- Lee County
- Lincoln County
- Little River County
- Logan County
- Lonoke County
- Madison County
- Marion County
- Miller County
- Mississippi County
- Monroe County
- Montgomery County
- Nevada County
- Newton County
- Ouachita County
- Perry County
- Phillips County
- Pike County
- Poinsett County
- Polk County
- Pope County
- Prairie County
- Pulaski County
- Randolph County
- St. Francis County
- Saline County
- Scott County
- Searcy County
- Sebastian County
- Sevier County
- Sharp County
- Stone County
- Union County
- Van Buren County
- Washington County
- White County
- Woodruff County
- Yell County