Kansas DUI Laws

Kansas DUI / DWI Laws

Kansas DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Kansas DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Kansas, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Kansas, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Kansas DUI lawyer!  Kansas DUI laws are complex and an experienced Kansas DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Kansas DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Kansas?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Kansas for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Kansas does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Kansas is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Kansas.

Q. Does Kansas have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Kansas does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .15%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Kansas?

A. Kansas DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Kansas will I lose my car?

A. Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Kansas it is possible your vehicle could be confiscated

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Kansas?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Kansas.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Kansas.  A first time DUI / DUII offense in Kansas requires 30 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a one year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a year suspension as well.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Kansas?

A. Yes, Kansas DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a second DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Kansas cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Kansas can cost  between $7,000 – $10,000 in fines and legal fees.

Q. Will an Kansas DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Kansas, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000

Overview of Kansas DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Kansas

  • Imprisonment – 48 hours minimum
  • Fine – $500 – $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 30-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Kansas

  • Imprisonment – 90 days to a year
  • Fine – $1,000 – $1,500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment, ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – up to a year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Kansas

  • Imprisonment – 90 days to a year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment, ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $1,500 – $2,500
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Kansas DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Kansas


  • Allen County
  • Anderson County
  • Atchison County
  • Barber County
  • Barton County
  • Bourbon County
  • Brown County
  • Butler County
  • Chase County
  • Chautauqua County
  • Cherokee County
  • Cheyenne County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Cloud County
  • Coffey County
  • Comanche County
  • Cowley County
  • Crawford County
  • Decatur County
  • Dickinson County


  • Doniphan County
  • Douglas County
  • Edwards County
  • Elk County
  • Ellis County
  • Ellsworth County
  • Finney County
  • Ford County
  • Franklin County
  • Geary County
  • Gove County
  • Graham County
  • Grant County
  • Gray County
  • Greeley County
  • Greenwood County
  • Hamilton County
  • Harper County
  • Harvey County
  • Haskell County
  • Hodgeman County


  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jewell County
  • Johnson County
  • Kearny County
  • Kingman County
  • Kiowa County
  • Labette County
  • Lane County
  • Leavenworth County
  • Lincoln County
  • Linn County
  • Logan County
  • Lyon County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • McPherson County
  • Meade County
  • Miami County
  • Mitchell County
  • Montgomery County


  • Morris County
  • Morton County
  • Nemaha County
  • Neosho County
  • Ness County
  • Norton County
  • Osage County
  • Osborne County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pawnee County
  • Phillips County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Pratt County
  • Rawlins County
  • Reno County
  • Republic County
  • Rice County
  • Riley County
  • Rooks County
  • Rush County
  • Russell County


  • Saline County
  • Scott County
  • Sedgwick County
  • Seward County
  • Shawnee County
  • Sheridan County
  • Sherman County
  • Smith County
  • Stafford County
  • Stanton County
  • Stevens County
  • Sumner County
  • Thomas County
  • Trego County
  • Wabaunsee County
  • Wallace County
  • Washington County
  • Wichita County
  • Wilson County
  • Woodson County
  • Wyandotte County