New York DUI Laws

New York DUI / DWI Laws 

New York DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

New York DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

I’ve been arrested for DUI in New York, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in New York, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced New York DUI lawyer!  New York DUI laws are complex and an experienced New York DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE New York DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in New York?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in New York for individuals over 21 is .08%.  New York does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in New York is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of New York.

Does New York have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

New York does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.18%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in New York?

New York DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a year license suspension, while a 2nd and 3rd time refusing will result in a 18 month license suspension.  

If I’m convicted of DUI in New York will I lose my car?

It is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in New York.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in New York?

License suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in New York.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in the state of New York.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in New York?

New York DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a 2nd DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in New York cost?

A first time DUI conviction in New York can cost  between $6,000 – $10,000.

Will an New York DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in New York, your insurance could increase by $2,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in New York?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in New York you may face up to a year in jail.

Overview of New York DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements


Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in New York

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Fine – $500 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – Min. 6 months

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in New York

  • Imprisonment – Up to 4 years
  • Fine – $1,000 to $5,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – Min. 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in New York

  • Imprisonment – Up to 7 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $2,000 to $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Min. 1 year

New York DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in New York

  • Albany County
  • Allegany County
  • Bronx County
  • Broome County
  • Cattaraugus County
  • Cayuga County
  • Chautauqua County
  • Chemung County
  • Chenango County
  • Clinton County
  • Columbia County
  • Cortland County
  • Delaware County
  • Dutchess County
  • Erie County
  • Essex County


  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Genesee County
  • Greene County
  • Hamilton County
  • Herkimer County
  • Jefferson County
  • Kings County
  • Lewis County
  • Livingston County
  • Madison County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Nassau County
  • New York City County
  • Niagara County


  • Oneida County
  • Onondaga County
  • Ontario County
  • Orange County
  • Orleans County
  • Oswego County
  • Otsego County
  • Putnam County
  • Queens County
  • Rensselaer County
  • Richmond County
  • Rockland County
  • St. Lawrence County
  • Saratoga County
  • Schenectady County
  • Schoharie County


  • Schuyler County
  • Seneca County
  • Steuben County
  • Suffolk County
  • Sullivan County
  • Tioga County
  • Tompkins County
  • Ulster County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Westchester County
  • Wyoming County
  • Yates County