Minnesota DUI Laws

Minnesota DUI / DWI Laws 

Minnesota DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Minnesota DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Michigan, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Michigan, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Michigan DUI lawyer!  Michigan DUI laws are complex and an experienced Michigan DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Michigan DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Minnesota?

A. Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Minnesota for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Minnesota does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%.  The commercial BAC limit in Minnesota is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Minnesota.

Q. Does Minnesota have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high? 

A. Yes, Minnesota does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.16%

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Minnesota?

A. Minnesota DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Minnesota will I lose my car?

A. It is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Minnesota.

Q. Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Minnesota?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Minnesota.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Minnesota.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Minnesota?

A. Yes, Minnesota DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

Q. How much does a DUI in Minnesota cost?

A. A first time DUI conviction in Minnesota can cost  between $9,000 – $12,000.

Q. Will an Minnesota DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Minnesota, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Overview of Minnesota DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Minnesota

  • Imprisonment – Up to 90 days
  • Fine – $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Minnesota

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Fine – $3,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to 180 days

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Minnesota

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $3,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Minimum of a year

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Minnesota

  • Imprisonment – Up to 7 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $14,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Up to 4 years

Minnesota DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Minnesota


  • Aitkin County
  • Anoka County
  • Becker County
  • Beltrami County
  • Benton County
  • Big Stone County
  • Blue Earth County
  • Brown County
  • Carlton County
  • Carver County
  • Cass County
  • Chippewa County
  • Chisago County
  • Clay County
  • Clearwater County
  • Cook County
  • Cottonwood County
  • Crow Wing County
  • Dakota County
  • Dodge County
  • Douglas County
  • Faribault County


  • Fillmore County
  • Freeborn County
  • Goodhue County
  • Grant County
  • Hennepin County
  • Houston County
  • Hubbard County
  • Isanti County
  • Itasca County
  • Jackson County
  • Kanabec County
  • Kandiyohi County
  • Kittson County
  • Koochiching County
  • Lac Qui Parle County
  • Lake County
  • Lake Of The Wood County
  • Le Sueur County
  • Lincoln County
  • Lyon County
  • Mahnomen County
  • Marshall County


  • Martin County
  • McLeod County
  • Meeker County
  • Mille Lacs County
  • Morrison County
  • Mower County
  • Murray County
  • Nicollet County
  • Nobles County
  • Norman County
  • Olmsted County
  • Otter Tail County
  • Pennington County
  • Pine County
  • Pipestone County
  • Polk County
  • Pope County
  • Ramsey County
  • Red Lake County
  • Redwood County
  • Renville County
  • Rice County


  • Rock County
  • Roseau County
  • St. Louis County
  • Scott County
  • Sherburne County
  • Sibley County
  • Stearns County
  • Steele County
  • Stevens County
  • Swift County
  • Todd County
  • Traverse County
  • Wabasha County
  • Wadena County
  • Waseca County
  • Washington County
  • Watonwan County
  • Wilkin County
  • Winona County
  • Wright County
  • Yellow Medicine County