Delaware DUI Laws
Delaware DUI law penalties, fines, requirements & information.
Delaware DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions
I’ve been arrested for DUI in Delaware, what should I do?
If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Delaware, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Delaware DUI lawyer! Delaware DUI laws are complex and an experienced Delaware DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Delware DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Delaware?
Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Delaware for individuals over 21 is .08%. Delaware has a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%. The commercial BAC limit in Delaware is .04%. Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Delaware.
Does Delaware have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
Delaware does have an enhanced or aggravated charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%
Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Delaware?
Delaware DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences. If you refuse to imply consent you will face a 1 year license suspension, 2 years if under 21 years of age.
If I’m convicted of DUI in Delaware will I lose my car?
Unlike some other states, Delaware DUI laws do not allow confiscation of a person’s vehicle upon a DUI conviction.
Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Delaware?
Yes, Delaware DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a second and subsequent DUI convictions.
How much does a DUI cost in Delaware?
A first time DUI conviction in Delaware can cost between $7,000 – $11,000.
Will an Delaware DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
Yes, definitely. If you are convicted of DUI in Delaware, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.
Overview of Delaware DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Delaware
- Imprisonment – A maximum of 6 months
- Fine – $500 to $1,500
- Mandatory –DUI school attendance
- Drivers License Revocation – 1 to 2 years
Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Delaware
- Imprisonment – 2 to 18 months
- Fine – $750 to $2,500
- Mandatory – DUI school attendance with possibility of ignition interlock device
- Drivers License Revocation – 24 to 30 months
Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Delaware
- Imprisonment – 1 to 2 years
- Mandatory –DUI school attendance with possibility of ignition interlock device
- Fine – $1,500 to $5,000
- DL Revocation – 24 to 36 months
Penalties & Fines For Fourth & Subsequent DUI Convictions In Delaware (Class C Felony DUI)
- Imprisonment – 2 to 5 years
- Fine – $3,000 to $7,000
- DL Revocation – 60 months
Delaware DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Delaware
- Kent County
- New Castle County
- Sussex County