Colorado DUI Laws


Colorado DUI Laws

Colorado DUI law penalties, fines, requirements & information.

Colorado DUI Laws Overview and Common DUI Questions


Q. Does Colorado have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

A. Yes, Colorado does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty if your BAC is over .17%

Q. If I’m convicted of DUI in Colorado will I lose my car?

A. No, If convicted of a DUI in Colorado your vehicle will not be confiscated.

Q. Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Colorado?

A. Yes, if convicted of a second DUI offense in California it is mandatory you will receive a ignition interlock device.

Q. Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Colorado?

A. Just like every other state in America, Colorado DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face severe consequences.

Q. I’ve been arrested for DUI in Colorado, what should I do?

A. If you’ve been arrested or charged with DUI / DWI in Colorado, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced local DUI lawyer!  Colorado DUI laws are complex and have sever consequences.  An experienced Colorado DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome for your DUI.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Colorado DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

Q. Is there a chance that I can lose my license if convicted of a DUI in California?

A. Yes, license suspension or revocation is possible if convicted of a DUI in California.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in California.  A first time DUI offense in California faces nine months suspension, second DUI offense faces one years suspension, and a third DUI offense faces a suspension for two years.

Q. How much does a DUI in Colorado cost?

A. If convicted of DUI in Colorado for a first time offense, you can expect to be facing around $7,000 to $10,000 in fines and legal fees.

Q. Will a Colorado DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

A. Yes, a DUI conviction in a Colorado could increase your insurance by $3,000 to $6,000.

Q. What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Colorado?

A. Like all states in America, the BAC legal limit in Colorado for adults is .08%.  You will be charged with a DUI in Colorado if you are found to have a BAC higher than .08.  Colorado DUI laws state that an underage minor can be charged with DUI if they have a BAC higher than .02%.

Overview of Colorado DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Colorado

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Fine – Up to $1,000
  • Mandatory – DUI school attendance
  • Driver License Revocation – 9 months

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Colorado

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Fine – Up to $1,500
  • Mandatory – DUI school attendance and required ignition interlock device
  • Driver License Revocation – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Colorado

  • Imprisonment – Up to 1 year
  • Mandatory – DUI school attendance and required ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Up to $1,500
  • Driver License Revocation– 2 years


Colorado DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Colorado


  • Adams County
  • Alamosa County
  • Arapahoe County
  • Archuleta County
  • Baca County
  • Bent County
  • Boulder County
  • Broomfield County
  • Chaffee County
  • Cheyenne County
  • Clear Creek County
  • Conejos County
  • Costilla County
  • Crowley County
  • Custer County
  • Delta County


  • Denver County
  • Dolores County
  • Douglas County
  • Eagle County
  • Elbert County
  • El Paso County
  • Fremont County
  • Garfield County
  • Gilpin County
  • Grand County
  • Gunnison County
  • Hinsdale County
  • Huerfano County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Kiowa County


  • Kit Carson County
  • Lake County
  • La Plata County
  • Larimer County
  • Las Animas County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Mesa County
  • Mineral County
  • Moffat County
  • Montezuma County
  • Montrose County
  • Morgan County
  • Otero County
  • Ouray County
  • Park County


  • Phillips County
  • Pitkin County
  • Prowers County
  • Pueblo County
  • Rio Blanco County
  • Rio Grande County
  • Routt County
  • Saguache County
  • San Juan County
  • San Miguel County
  • Sedgwick County
  • Summit County
  • Teller County
  • Washington County
  • Weld County
  • Yuma County