Tennessee DUI Laws
Tennessee DUI Laws: DUI Penalties, DUI Fines, Requirements & Information.
Tennessee DUI / DWI Laws Overview and Common DUI / DWI Questions
Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Tennessee?
Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Tennessee you will face 48 hours up to 11 months in jail on your first offense. Possible jail time for a second DUI is 45 days up to 1 year and a 3rd Tennessee DUI conviction is 120 days up to 1 year. A fourth DUI conviction will result in 150 days up to 6 years in jail!
Will a Tennessee DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
Yes. If you are convicted of a DUI in Tennessee, your insurance could increase by $3,000 to $6,000.
I’ve been arrested for DUI in Tennessee, what should I do?
If you’ve been arrested or charged with DUI / DWI in the state of Tennessee, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced local DUI lawyer! Tennessee DUI laws are complex and an experienced Tennessee DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Tennessee DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
Does Tennessee have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
Yes, Tennessee does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.20%.
What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Tennessee?
The BAC legal limit in Tennessee for adults is .08%. You will be charged with a DUI in Tennessee if you are found to have a BAC higher than .08%. In addition, Tennessee has a zero tolerance (underage) BAC of 0.02%, meaning that any underage driver found driving under the influence in Tennessee with a BAC higher then .02% will be charged with a DUI. The BAC limit for commercial vehicle drivers is .04%.
Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Tennessee?
Tennessee DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you consent to submitting to sobriety testing or chemical testing when you accept your drivers license. Tennessee DUI laws do include severe penalties if you refuse to take a field sobriety test or provide chemical testing
Is there a chance that I can lose my license if convicted of a DUI in Tennessee?
Yes, license suspension or revocation is possible if convicted of a DUI in Tennessee. A first time DUI conviction in Tennessee will result in a 1 year license suspension. A second DUI conviction will result in a 2 year suspension and a 3rd DUI conviction is a 3 to 10 year license suspension. Your license could be suspended from 5 year to indefinitely for a 4th DUI conviction.
If I’m convicted of DUI in Tennessee will I lose my car?
It is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are convicted of 2 or more DUI / DWI’s in Tennessee.
How much does a Tennessee DUI cost?
A first time DUI offense in Tennessee can cost between $7,000 – $11,000. Fines and cost associated with a DUI conviction will rise if you receive more than one DUI conviction.
Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Tennessee?
No. A DUI / DWI conviction will not require the use of an ignition interlock device in the state of Tennessee.
Overview of Tennessee DUI Law Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
Implied Consent – Refusal to Submit to Blood Alcohol
- Revocation of Drivers License for 1 year – 1st offense
- Revocation of Drivers License for 2 years – 2nd offense
- Revocation of Drivers License for 2 years if crash resulted in bodily injury (Most Aggravated Drunk Driving Law)
- Revocation of Drivers License for 5 years if crash resulted in a death (Most Aggravated Drunk Driving Law)
Tennessee DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Tennessee
- Van Buren