Wyoming DUI Laws

Wyoming DUI / DWI Laws

Wyoming DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Wyoming DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions

I’ve been arrested for DUI in Wyoming, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Wyoming, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Wyoming DUI lawyer!  Wyoming DUI laws are complex and an experienced Wyoming DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Wyoming DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Wyoming?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Wyoming for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Wyoming does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Wyoming is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Wyoming.

Does Wyoming have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Wyoming does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Wyoming?

Wyoming DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

If I’m convicted of DUI in Wyoming will I lose my car?

Wyoming DUI laws do allow confiscation of vehicles upon a DUI conviction in the state of Wyoming.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Wyoming?

Yes, Wyoming DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in Wyoming cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Wyoming can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.

Will an Wyoming DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Wyoming, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Wyoming?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Wyoming you may face up to 6 months in jail.


Overview of Wyoming DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Wyoming

  • Imprisonment – Up to 6 months
  • Fine – Up to $750
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device if BAC is over 0.15%
  • Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Wyoming

  • Imprisonment – 7 days to 6 months
  • Fine – $250 to $750
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Wyoming

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 6 months
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $750 to $3,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 3 years

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Wyoming

  • Imprisonment – Up to 2 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with lifetime ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Up to $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – Determined in court

Wyoming DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Wyoming


  • Albany County
  • Big Horn County
  • Campbell County
  • Carbon County
  • Converse County
  • Crook County


  • Fremont County
  • Goshen County
  • Hot Springs County
  • Johnson County
  • Laramie County
  • Lincoln County


  • Natrona County
  • Niobrara County
  • Park County
  • Platte County
  • Sheridan County
  • Sublette County


  • Sweetwater County
  • Teton County
  • Uinta County
  • Washakie County
  • Weston County