Wisconsin DUI Laws

Wisconsin DUI / DWI Laws

Wisconsin DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Wisconsin DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in Wisconsin, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Wisconsin, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Wisconsin DUI lawyer!  Wisconsin DUI laws are complex and an experienced Wisconsin DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Wisconsin DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Wisconsin?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Wisconsin for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Wisconsin does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Wisconsin is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Wisconsin.

Does Wisconsin have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Wisconsin does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  In the State of Wisconsin, you can have your license revoked for a year if you refuse to submit to a field sobriety or chemical test.

If I’m convicted of DUI in Wisconsin will I lose my car?

Unlike some other states, Wisconsin DUI laws do not allow confiscation of vehicles.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Wisconsin?

Yes, Wisconsin DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a 2nd DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in Wisconsin cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Wisconsin can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.

Will an Wisconsin DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Wisconsin, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Wisconsin?

In the state of Wisconsin, first time DUI offenders do not have to serve any jail time.  However, subsequent DUI’s  in the state of Wisconsin do have jail time requirements.

Overview of Wisconsin DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Wisconsin

  • Imprisonment – None
  • Fine – $150 to $300
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 6 to 9 months

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Wisconsin

  • Imprisonment – 5 days to 6 months
  • Fine – $300 to $1,100
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 12 to 18 months

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Wisconsin

  • Imprisonment – 30 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $600 to $2,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 to 3 years

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction  in Wisconsin

  • Imprisonment – 60 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $600 to $2,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 to 3 years

Penalties & Fines For Fifth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Wisconsin

  • Imprisonment – 6 months to 6 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $600 to $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 to 3 years

Wisconsin DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Wisconsin


  • Adams County
  • Ashland County
  • Barron County
  • Bayfield County
  • Brown County
  • Buffalo County
  • Burnett County
  • Calumet County
  • Chippewa County
  • Clark County
  • Columbia County
  • Crawford County
  • Dane County
  • Dodge County
  • Door County
  • Douglas County
  • Dunn County
  • Eau Claire County


  • Florence County
  • Fond Du Lac County
  • Forest County
  • Grant County
  • Green County
  • Green Lake County
  • Iowa County
  • Iron County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Juneau County
  • Kenosha County
  • Kewaunee County
  • La Crosse County
  • Lafayette County
  • Langlade County
  • Lincoln County
  • Manitowoc County


  • Marathon County
  • Marinette County
  • Marquette County
  • Menominee County
  • Milwaukee County
  • Monroe County
  • Oconto County
  • Oneida County
  • Outagamie County
  • Ozaukee County
  • Pepin County
  • Pierce County
  • Polk County
  • Portage County
  • Price County
  • Racine County
  • Richland County
  • Rock County



  • Rusk County
  • St. Croix County
  • Sauk County
  • Sawyer County
  • Shawano County
  • Sheboygan County
  • Taylor County
  • Trempealeau County
  • Vernon County
  • Vilas County
  • Walworth County
  • Washburn County
  • Washington County
  • Waukesha County
  • Waupaca County
  • Waushara County
  • Winnebago County
  • Wood County