West Virginia DUI Laws

West Virginia DUI / DWI Laws

West Virginia DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

West Virginia DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in West Virginia, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in West Virginia, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced West Virginia DUI lawyer!  West Virginia DUI laws are complex and an experienced West Virginia DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE West Virginia DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in West Virginia?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in West Virginia for individuals over 21 is .08%.  West Virginia does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in West Virginia is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of West Virginia.

Does West Virginia have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, West Virginia does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.15%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in West Virginia?

West Virginia DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

If I’m convicted of DUI in West Virginia will I lose my car?

Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in West Virginia.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DWI in West Virginia?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in West Virginia.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in the state of West Virginia.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in West Virginia?

Yes, West Virginia DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in West Virginia cost?

A first time DUI conviction in West Virginia can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.

Will an West Virginia DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in West Virginia, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in West Virginia?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Maine you may face up to 6 months in jail.

Overview of West Virginia DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in West Virginia

  • Imprisonment – Up to 6 months
  • Fine – $100 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with possible ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 15 to 45 days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in West Virginia

  • Imprisonment – 6 to 12 months
  • Fine – $1,000 to $3,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s in West Virginia

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 3 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $3,000 to $5,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

West Virginia DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in West Virginia


  • Barbour County
  • Berkeley County
  • Boone County
  • Braxton County
  • Brooke County
  • Cabell County
  • Calhoun County
  • Clay County
  • Doddridge County
  • Fayette County
  • Gilmer County
  • Grant County
  • Greenbrier County
  • Hampshire County


  • Hancock County
  • Hardy County
  • Harrison County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Kanawha County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • McDowell County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Mason County
  • Mercer County


  • Mineral County
  • Mingo County
  • Monongalia County
  • Monroe County
  • Morgan County
  • Nicholas County
  • Ohio County
  • Pendleton County
  • Pleasants County
  • Pocahontas County
  • Preston County
  • Putnam County
  • Raleigh County
  • Randolph County


  • Ritchie County
  • Roane County
  • Summers County
  • Taylor County
  • Tucker County
  • Tyler County
  • Upshur County
  • Wayne County
  • Webster County
  • Wetzel County
  • Wirt County
  • Wood County
  • Wyoming County