Utah DUI Laws

Utah DUI / DWI Laws

Utah DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Utah DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in Utah, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Utah, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Utah DUI lawyer!  Utah DUI laws are complex and an experienced Utah DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Utah DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Utah?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Utah for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Utah does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Utah is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Utah.

Does Utah have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Utah does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.16%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Utah?

Utah DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

If I’m convicted of DUI in Utah will I lose my car?

Unlike some other states, Utah DUI laws allow confiscation of vehicles upon a DUI conviction.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DWI in Utah?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Utah.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Utah.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Utah?

Yes, Utah DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a 2nd DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in Utah cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Utah can cost between $8,000 – $10,000.

Will an Utah DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Utah, your insurance could increase by $4,500 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Utah?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Utah you may face up to 48 hours in jail.


Overview of Utah DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Utah

  • Imprisonment – 48 hours min.
  • Fine – $700 min.
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 120 days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Utah

  • Imprisonment – 240 hours min.
  • Fine – $800 min.
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Utah

  • Imprisonment – 1,500 hours min.
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $1,500 min.
  • Drivers license suspension – 2 years

Utah DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Utah


  • Beaver County
  • Box Elder County
  • Cache County
  • Carbon County
  • Daggett County
  • Davis County
  • Duchesne County
  • Emery County
  • Garfield County
  • Grand County


  • Iron County
  • Juab County
  • Kane County
  • Millard County
  • Morgan County
  • Piute County
  • Rich County
  • Salt Lake County
  • San Juan County
  • Sanpete County


  • Sevier County
  • Summit County
  • Tooele County
  • Uintah County
  • Utah County
  • Wasatch County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Weber County