Oregon DUI / DWI Laws
Oregon DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information
Oregon DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions
I’ve been arrested for DUI in Oregon, what should I do?
If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Oregon, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Oregon DUI lawyer! Oregon DUI laws are complex and an experienced Oregon DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome. Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Oregon DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.
What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Oregon?
Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Oregon for individuals over 21 is .08%. Oregon does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%. The commercial BAC limit in Oregon is .04%. Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Oregon.
Does Oregon have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?
Unlike some other states, Oregon does not have an enhanced or aggravated DUI penalty.
Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Oregon?
Oregon DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences. On the 1st refusal you will face a 1 year license suspension and a fine of $500-$1000. The 2nd and 3rd refusal will result in a 3 year license suspension and a fine of $500-$1000.
If I’m convicted of DUI in Oregon will I lose my car?
Unlike some other states, Oregon DUI laws do allow confiscation of vehicles.
Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Oregon?
Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Oregon. The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Oregon. A first time DUI / DUII offense in Oregon requires 90 days suspension, second DUI / DUII offense is a one year suspension, and a third DUI / DUII offense is a three years suspension.
Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Oregon?
Yes, Oregon DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI conviction.
How much does a DUI in Oregon cost?
A first time DUI conviction in Oregon can cost between $8,000 – $11,000. A 3rd DUI or Class C Felony DUI can incur a fine of up to $125,000!
Will an Oregon DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?
Yes, definitely. If you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Oregon, your insurance could increase by $3,000 to $6,000.
Overview of Oregon DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements
- Imprisonment – 48 hours up to 1 year in municipal or county jail (2 day minimum mandatory sentence)
- Fine – $1000 – $2,000
- Mandatory – alcohol assessment & treatment
- Drivers license suspension – 90-day license suspension
- Imprisonment – up to 1 year
- Fine – $2,000 – $10,000
- Mandatory – up to 1 year jail time, alcohol assessment & treatment
- Drivers license suspension – up to 3 years
- Imprisonment – up to 5 years
- Mandatory – 90 days in jail, presumptive sentence for felony DUI is 13 months in prison.
- Fine – Class C felony DUI can carry a fine up to $125,000
- Drivers license suspension – lifetime driver’s license revocation.
Oregon DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Oregon
- Hood River