Oklahoma DUI Laws

Oklahoma DUI / DWI Laws

Oklahoma DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Oklahoma DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in Oklahoma, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Oklahoma, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Oklahoma DUI lawyer!  Oklahoma DUI laws are complex and an experienced Oklahoma DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Oklahoma DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Oklahoma?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Oklahoma for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Oklahoma does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .00%.  The commercial BAC limit in Oklahoma is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Oklahoma.

Does Oklahoma have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Oklahoma does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.17%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.  On the 1st refusal you will face a 6 month license suspension with a 18 month ignition interlock device, repeated offenses have more severe penalties.  

If I’m convicted of DUI in Oklahoma will I lose my car?

Vehicle confiscation is possible if you are convicted of a 3rd DUI offense in the state of Oklahoma.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DUII in Oklahoma?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DWI in the state of Oklahoma.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in Oklahoma. 

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a DUI 2nd conviction.

How much does a DUI in Oklahoma cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Oklahoma can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.

Will an Oklahoma DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Oklahoma, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Oklahoma you may face 5 days up to a year in jail.

Overview of Oklahoma DUI / DUII Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Oklahoma

  • Imprisonment – 5 days to 1 year
  • Fine – Up to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 30 days

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Oklahoma

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 5 years
  • Fine – Up to $2,500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Drivers license suspension – 6 months

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Oklahoma

  • Imprisonment – 1 to 10 years
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – Up to $5,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 year

Oklahoma DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Oklahoma


  • Adair County
  • Alfalfa County
  • Atoka County
  • Beaver County
  • Beckham County
  • Blaine County
  • Bryan County
  • Caddo County
  • Canadian County
  • Carter County
  • Cherokee County
  • Choctaw County
  • Cimarron County
  • Cleveland County
  • Coal County
  • Comanche County
  • Cotton County
  • Craig County
  • Creek County
  • Custer County


  • Delaware County
  • Dewey County
  • Ellis County
  • Garfield County
  • Garvin County
  • Grady County
  • Grant County
  • Greer County
  • Harmon County
  • Harper County
  • Haskell County
  • Hughes County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnston County
  • Kay County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Kiowa County
  • Latimer County
  • Le Flore County


  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Love County
  • McClain County
  • McCurtain County
  • McIntosh County
  • Major County
  • Marshall County
  • Mayes County
  • Murray County
  • Muskogee County
  • Noble County
  • Nowata County
  • Okfuskee County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Okmulgee County
  • Osage County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pawnee County
  • Payne County


  • Pittsburg County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Pushmataha County
  • Roger Mills County
  • Rogers County
  • Seminole County
  • Sequoyah County
  • Stephens County
  • Texas County
  • Tillman County
  • Tulsa County
  • Wagoner County
  • Washington County
  • Washita County
  • Woods County
  • Woodward County