Ohio DUI Laws

Ohio DUI / DWI Laws

Ohio DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Requirements & Information

Ohio DUI / DWI Laws Overview & Common DUI / DWI Questions


I’ve been arrested for DUI in Ohio, what should I do?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI in Ohio, the first thing you should do is talk with an experienced Ohio DUI lawyer!  Ohio DUI laws are complex and an experienced Ohio DUI lawyer will be able to negotiate the best possible outcome.  Call 1.855.700.0754 for a FREE Ohio DUI consultation with a local DUI lawyer.

What is the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Ohio?

Like all other states in America, the BAC legal limit in Ohio for individuals over 21 is .08%.  Ohio does have a zero-tolerance law meaning anyone under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for a BAC greater than .02%.  The commercial BAC limit in Ohio is .04%.  Anyone found to have a BAC higher than these limits will be charged with DUI in the state of Ohio.

Does Ohio have an aggravated DUI charge if my BAC is extremely high?

Yes, Ohio does have a enhanced or aggravated DUI charge if your BAC limit is over 0.17%

Do I have to take a field sobriety test or chemical test in Ohio?

Ohio DUI laws include “implied consent”, which means you are required to submit to field sobriety tests or chemical testing, or you will face serious consequences.

If I’m convicted of a DUI in Ohio will I lose my car?

Yes, it is a possibility that your vehicle could be confiscated if you are charged with a DUI offense in Ohio.

Can I lose my drivers license if convicted of DUI / DWI in Ohio?

Yes, license suspension or revocation will occur if you are convicted of DUI / DUII in Ohio.  The duration of a suspension varies by the type of DUI offense in the state of Ohio.

Will I have to use an ignition interlock device if I’m convicted of DUI in Ohio?

Yes, Ohio DUI laws require the use of ignition interlock devices upon a 3rd DUI conviction.

How much does a DUI in Ohio cost?

A first time DUI conviction in Ohio can cost between $7,000 – $10,000.

Will an Ohio DUI conviction increase my auto insurance?

Yes, definitely.  If you are convicted of DUI / DWI in Ohio, your insurance could increase by $3,600 to $6,000.

Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Ohio?

Yes, If convicted of a DUI offense in Ohio you may face up to 3 days – 6 months in jail.

Overview of Ohio DUI / DWI Laws: Penalties, Fines, Jail Time & Requirements

Penalties & Fines For First DUI Conviction in Ohio

  • Imprisonment – 3 days to 6 months
  • Fine – $250 to $1,000
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 6 months to 3 years

Penalties & Fines For Second DUI Conviction in Ohio

  • Imprisonment – 10 days to 1 year
  • Fine – $350 to $1,500
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 to 5 years

Penalties & Fines For Third DUI Conviction in Ohio

  • Imprisonment – 30 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $350 to $1,500
  • Drivers license suspension – 1 to 10 years

Penalties & Fines For Fourth DUI Conviction and Subsequent DUI’s Within 10 Years in Ohio

  • Imprisonment – 60 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory – Alcohol assessment &  treatment with ignition interlock device
  • Fine – $800 to $10,000
  • Drivers license suspension – 3 years to permanent

Ohio DUI Laws Apply To All Counties in Ohio


  • Adams County
  • Allen County
  • Ashland County
  • Ashtabula County
  • Athens County
  • Auglaize County
  • Belmont County
  • Brown County
  • Butler County
  • Carroll County
  • Champaign County
  • Clark County
  • Clermont County
  • Clinton County
  • Columbiana County
  • Coshocton County
  • Crawford County
  • Cuyahoga County
  • Darke County County
  • Defiance County
  • Delaware County
  • Erie County


  • Fairfield County
  • Fayette County
  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Gallia County
  • Geauga County
  • Greene County
  • Guernsey County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Hardin County
  • Harrison County
  • Henry County
  • Highland County
  • Hocking County
  • Holmes County
  • Huron County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Knox County
  • Lake County
  • Lawrence County


  • Licking County
  • Logan County
  • Lorain County
  • Lucas County
  • Madison County
  • Mahoning County
  • Marion County
  • Medina County
  • Meigs County
  • Mercer County
  • Miami County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County
  • Morrow County
  • Muskingum County
  • Noble County
  • Ottawa County
  • Paulding County
  • Perry County
  • Pickaway County
  • Pike County


  • Portage County
  • Preble County
  • Putnam County
  • Richland County
  • Ross County
  • Sandusky County
  • Scioto County
  • Seneca County
  • Shelby County
  • Stark County
  • Summit County
  • Trumbull County
  • Tuscarawas County
  • Union County
  • Van Wert County
  • Vinton County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Williams County
  • Wood County
  • Wyandot County