[/av_heading] [av_textblock ]
What is an Ignition Interlock Device and what does it do?
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device, like a breathalyzer, installed in a motor vehicle’s to ensure the car cannot be started without first using the interlock device. Before the vehicle can be started, the driver first must breathe into the interlock device. If the driver’s breath-alcohol concentration is greater than the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) programmed into the interlock device, the engine will not start.
Essentially, an ignition interlock device is installed to interrupt the signal from the ignition switch and the vehicles starter. If the driver blows a BAC above the allowed limit, then the interlock device will not complete the circuit allowing the vehicle to start. Once the driver blows an allowable BAC the interlock device will complete the ignition circuit allowing the car to start.
What is an Ignition Interlock rolling test?
Even after the vehicle is started and moving, the interlock device will require additional breath tests at random intervals, sometimes called a “rolling test”. If the driver blows a BAC higher than allowed, the interlock device will log the event and begin to warn the driver and begin to start an alarm, such as flashing lights, or making the horn blow, until the ignition is turned off, or a BAC below the allowed limit is provided.
How much does an Interlock Device cost?
The cost to install an interlock device will depend on where you have it installed. However, the average cost to install an ignition interlock device seems to be around $75. There is also a daily/monthly rental fee for having the device installed in your vehicle, which seems to average around $2.50/day or $75/month.
If I’m convicted of a DUI / DWI will I have to install an ignition interlock device?
Currently, eleven states require that an interlock device be installed in your vehicle even after your first DUI / DWI offense. The eleven states include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah and Washington. In addition, the DUI laws in each state do require the installation and use of an ignition interlock device for repeat offenders.[/av_textblock] [av_heading tag=’h3′ padding=’10’ heading=’Review The Ignition Interlock Device Requirements (DUI Laws) For Each State’ color=” style=” custom_font=” size=” subheading_active=” subheading_size=’15’ custom_class=”][/av_heading] [av_one_fourth first] [av_textblock ] [/av_textblock] [/av_one_fourth] [av_one_fourth] [av_textblock ] [/av_textblock] [/av_one_fourth] [av_one_fourth] [av_textblock ] [/av_textblock] [/av_one_fourth] [av_one_fourth] [av_textblock ] [/av_textblock] [/av_one_fourth]